Page 2 of 2

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:06 pm
by Adam
Hey, that did the trick :)

I was wondering if its possible to Invert the direction transparency is applied?
Or edit the origin altogether? Like lets say we would like transparency to be applied from all angles simultaneously.
Image

I have also edited the shader to include a texture with an alpha mask to cut out.
Image
And while I am actually quite happy with the result.
The Transparency render is now kinda cramping my style here. Since I would like the leaves texture to not be transparent. :D

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:11 pm
by Ricardo Teixeira
Adam wrote:Hey, that did the trick :)

I was wondering if its possible to Invert the direction transparency is applied?
Or edit the origin altogether? Like lets say we would like transparency to be applied from all angles simultaneously.
Image

I have also edited the shader to include a texture with an alpha mask to cut out.
Image
And while I am actually quite happy with the result.
The Transparency render is now kinda cramping my style here. Since I would like the leaves texture to not be transparent. :D


Not sure we follow, you could do (1 - X) to invert the result but that means that it will be transparent when seen from the front and opaque at larger angles.

I strongly recommend posting in the official Unity forum, it's the best place to get ideas and feedback on specific shader techniques. Our forum is mostly for technical support.

Join us!

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:30 pm
by Adam
I will do that :)
ty for help

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:45 pm
by Ricardo Teixeira
Adam wrote:I will do that :)
ty for help


Awesome, looking forward to seeing it in action!

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:10 am
by nelsonCiofi
Hi.

Did you solve the emission problem?
By your description at the beginning of the post, it's the same as mine.
I can't reproduce the Standard Shader setting.
Standard shader has a float property going from 0 to 99 that seems to work differently from anything.
I looked at the standard shader code, but i could not find any help.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:28 am
by Ricardo Teixeira
nelsonCiofi wrote:Hi.

Did you solve the emission problem?
By your description at the beginning of the post, it's the same as mine.
I can't reproduce the Standard Shader setting.
Standard shader has a float property going from 0 to 99 that seems to work differently from anything.
I looked at the standard shader code, but i could not find any help.

Thanks in advance.


Hey there,

Any particular behavior that you intend to replicate not currently possible with ASE?

Thanks!

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:31 pm
by nelsonCiofi
Thanks for your fast response.

Yes. I don't know exactly how it works but on the standard shader, when you click on Emission checkbox, on the material editor we get a color property and a float. That color property is different from other colors, it shows more options. And that float goes from 0 to 99 and it is shown as Brightness in that color property. It also seems to increase the radius of that emissive texture, just like the radius property of a normal light component would.

Am I missing something?

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:35 pm
by Ricardo Teixeira
nelsonCiofi wrote:Thanks for your fast response.

Yes. I don't know exactly how it works but on the standard shader, when you click on Emission checkbox, on the material editor we get a color property and a float. That color property is different from other colors, it shows more options. And that float goes from 0 to 99 and it is shown as Brightness in that color property. It also seems to increase the radius of that emissive texture, just like the radius property of a normal light component would.

Am I missing something?



Hello,

Thank you for the additional information, I'm not sure if there's any specific Unity parameter that we are not considering but we were able to replicate the standard result by multiplying the emissive value. If required, be sure to set it to HDR.

Image

Which ASE version are you currently using?

Looking forward to your reply.

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:11 am
by nelsonCiofi
Hi!
Sorry for the delay, I had to format my computer.
And that's it! I was missing that HDR setting.
Thanks a lot!!

Re: Unity Standard Shader using Amplify

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:06 am
by Ricardo Teixeira
nelsonCiofi wrote:Hi!
Sorry for the delay, I had to format my computer.
And that's it! I was missing that HDR setting.
Thanks a lot!!


Hey, no problem at all.

Happy to know it's working!