Amplifying your potential.
Page 1 of 1

World Space Light Pos Node output values

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:01 am
by Arthurullo
Hi forum!

I think I've found a bug in the node "World Space Light Pos".
In a scene with only a Directional Light, I'm multiplying the "Type" output by the "Light Color" node, and as a result we get a color with less brightness, instead of a black color as the documentation states.
"For directional lights the Dir/Pos output will specify a world space direction and Type will be set to 0"

Is this a bug or I'm misunderstanding the node functionallity?

Thanks!

Re: World Space Light Pos Node output values

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:05 pm
by Amplify_Borba
Hello Arthurullo, thank you for getting in touch and for taking the time to report this issue!

Upon testing, we have confirmed that there was an issue present with the previews, which we've already fixed and deployed with today's update, other than that the World Space Light Position node is working as intended.

The new build, ASE v1.4.0.001 – 5th December 2017 – Stable, is available through our download page.

For clarification purposes, node previews don't necessarily have to show the same results as a material in your scene since they are values simulated under the ASE environment.
Per example, on the World Space Light Pos you will see its type set as 0 ( directional light ) independently on what type of lights you contain on your current scene.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or issues, we'll be glad to help!

Re: World Space Light Pos Node output values

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:27 am
by Arthurullo
Thanks a lot Borba! :D

There is any way to replicate my scene configuration on the ASE environment?

Thanks again!!

Re: World Space Light Pos Node output values

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:17 am
by Amplify_Borba
Arthurullo wrote:Thanks a lot Borba! :D

There is any way to replicate my scene configuration on the ASE environment?

Thanks again!!


No problem, glad to help!

Would you please elaborate on your question? What exactly would you like to replicate through ASE? The more details you provide, the better we can help you out, thanks!

Re: World Space Light Pos Node output values

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:44 pm
by Arthurullo
I mean, I don't know if I can indicate if I have a directional light in the scene or if I can set my current ambient gradient color in the ASE enviroment.

Re: World Space Light Pos Node output values

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:36 pm
by Amplify_Borba
Arthurullo wrote:I mean, I don't know if I can indicate if I have a directional light in the scene or if I can set my current ambient gradient color in the ASE enviroment.


Apologies for asking, but I'm still having trouble understanding what's your intent.

By ASE Environment we mean the canvas previews, but what exactly do you mean by indicating that you have a directional light? Could you provide a practical example and a more elaborate description? Thanks!