Shader Acting Different in Build (possible bug?)

Node-based Shader Editor

Shader Acting Different in Build (possible bug?)

Postby dallasglowka » Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:01 pm

I have a shader that calculates emission based on how far each vertex is away from a certain point (GlowPosition).

Node Network:
https://imgur.com/a/ChftY

Nothing too complicated. I'm an entry level technical artist and have only about a year of shader experience but I don't think I'm doing anything wrong (someone correct me if that's not the case). The shader functions as intended in editor and play mode but acts strange in builds.

I have several crystals with identical materials using the shader that flicker from being correct to being a flat color. It seems to be dependent on the angle from which you're looking but also just kind of random. By rotating around a crystal you can make it switch from being correctly shaded to being just a flat color (most of the time).

Image of problem:
http://imgur.com/a/l9STA

I am using the lastest version of Amplify Shader Editor (1.5.0). Tested on both a Windows and Linux build. I can provide additional information if needed.

Definately seems like a bug to me but I'm open to any suggestion! I'm out of ideas.
dallasglowka

Re: Shader Acting Different in Build (possible bug?)

Postby Amplify_Borba » Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:43 pm

Hello, thank you for getting in touch!

We've been unable to replicate this issue, could you share a project sample with us with the issue present so that we may debug it on our side?

Feel free to send it through [email protected], thanks!
Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
Amplify_Borba

Postby dallasglowka » Wed Mar 21, 2018 6:49 pm