Animate Shader Materials

Node-based Shader Editor

Animate Shader Materials

Postby Yoshinjo » Wed May 02, 2018 6:20 am

Hello,

I'm still learning quite a bit of Amplify Shader, so this might be a mundane/dumb question. I've been searching the internet and came up with very little and thus I thought I would cut to the chase and ask other users or devs of Amplify Shader.

Question: Is there a way to animate the shader's material properties through the animator and not through coding? I know obviously for programmers, this would be the easiest solution however I am an artist and want to keyframe other elements to sync with the shader setting changes.

Your help is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.
Yoshinjo

Re: Animate Shader Materials

Postby Amplify_Borba » Wed May 02, 2018 4:06 pm

Hey there, there's no such thing as mundane questions, we're always happy to help!

It's possible to animate values through the animator, but you need to have them set to property first, so that the value becomes available in the properties of the material that uses the shader and can be changed in the material inspector or by script, and then you may add them to your animation through Add Property.

PropertyAnimate.jpg
PropertyAnimate.jpg (147.73 KiB) Viewed 2254 times

Please let me know if this helps, thanks!
Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
Amplify_Borba

Postby Yoshinjo » Wed May 02, 2018 7:42 pm

Hey Borba,