Tint only one texture and add it onto other textures

Node-based Shader Editor

Tint only one texture and add it onto other textures

Postby Hertzole » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:52 pm

Hello!

I'm quite new to making shaders and I'm not very familiar with all the operations. I've been trying to make a simple shader that allows me to mix and match textures and add them to a material so they overlay. (I also just realized now I might run into a sorting issue, which is amazing that I haven't done that so far.) My current problem is that if I want to tint one of the textures, everything gets tinted and I don't know how to fix it.

This is what it looks like right now.
As you can see here, the "Eye Tint" applies the color to the whole material, when I only want it to apply to the eye texture.

Any help is appreciated!

Bonus question: How do I add those comment boxes? I can't find it anywhere!
Hertzole

Re: Tint only one texture and add it onto other textures

Postby Ricardo Teixeira » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:41 am

Hertzole wrote:Hello!

I'm quite new to making shaders and I'm not very familiar with all the operations. I've been trying to make a simple shader that allows me to mix and match textures and add them to a material so they overlay. (I also just realized now I might run into a sorting issue, which is amazing that I haven't done that so far.) My current problem is that if I want to tint one of the textures, everything gets tinted and I don't know how to fix it.

This is what it looks like right now.
As you can see here, the "Eye Tint" applies the color to the whole material, when I only want it to apply to the eye texture.

Any help is appreciated!

Bonus question: How do I add those comment boxes? I can't find it anywhere!

Hello,

Use the Lerp node to combine them.

Use C to create comment boxes.

Let me know if you have nay additional questions, I would be happy to elaborate.

Thanks!
Sales & Customer Relations at Amplify Creations