Page 1 of 1

Is there a linear version of the color picker?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:17 pm
by jake_from_bend
At our studio, all of our color math is done in linear and then we convert to sRGB at the end of the graph. Even our color textures are imported as linear. This makes it simple and cheap to do color blending, etc..

The problem i'm encountering is that there doesn't seem to be a linear color picker, so we have to either convert the picker to linear in the shader or use a float4 and manually enter the rgb values. Both of these options are inconvenient, but one of them literally makes the shader more expensive.

Is there something i'm doing wrong?

[img]color_picker_bug.JPG[/img]

Re: Is there a linear version of the color picker?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:22 pm
by jake_from_bend
Follow-up question, what methods are the "Fast" and "Exact" gamma corrections using?
Is "fast" using a lookup table?

Re: Is there a linear version of the color picker?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:07 am
by Ricardo Teixeira
jake_from_bend wrote:Follow-up question, what methods are the "Fast" and "Exact" gamma corrections using?
Is "fast" using a lookup table?


Hello,

This is not exactly my area of expertise but we do provide references in the official node page.

You can change the Picker by setting the HDR attribute, is this what you're looking for?

Image

Please do elaborate if not, I will pass your request along to our developers.

Thanks!

Re: Is there a linear version of the color picker?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:51 am
by jake_from_bend
Sorry for the delayed response, Ricardo.
So after inspecting the actual shader code generated by ASE, it does in fact look like the color picker is sampled in linear. The preview inside ASE is just displaying it incorrectly.

Re: Is there a linear version of the color picker?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:02 pm
by Amplify_Borba
Hello! Unfortunately, the preview of the nodes does not always display the most accurate data.

Nevertheless, I'll pass this information to the developer to see if there's anything that we can do on our side, thank you for letting us know.

Re: Is there a linear version of the color picker?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:10 pm
by jake_from_bend
It's certainly appreciated.
I imagine this would cause some confusion to a lot of shader artists, as the Color sampler is only in linear, but is displayed as sRGB. It turned out we were needlessly converting the color picker to linear before doing color math.

Re: Is there a linear version of the color picker?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:08 am
by Amplify_Borba
That's completely understandable, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and will hopefully find a solution or workaround for this problem.