Amplifying your potential.

Channel Packing Textures with Amplify Shader Editor

Your feedback is very important to us. We are listening.
6 posts • Page 1 of 1

Channel Packing Textures with Amplify Shader Editor

Postby billeci91 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:43 pm

Is Amplify capable of channel packing textures? And if so, what channels in sRGBA should i be packing my Albedo, Metallic, Smoothness and Normal maps into? I've tried packing my Albedo into the RGB channels, the Metallic into the Red, Smoothness into the Green and Normal into the Blue and it doesnt seem to be reading the shader like it should. If channel packing does work with Amplify, i was wondering if I'd be able to get a quick rundown of how I'd be able to accomplish this.

-Cheers
billeci91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Channel Packing Textures with Amplify

Postby Ricardo Teixeira » Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:14 pm

Hello,

Thank you for your interest, we really appreciate it. Do you mean Amplify Texture? If so, it is capable of using packed textures, it really comes down to the shader and virtual texture preset used.

Are you using a custom shader?
What's your current Virtual Texture Preset set to?

Looking forward to your reply.

Thanks!
Sales & Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
User avatar
Ricardo Teixeira
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Channel Packing Textures with Amplify

Postby billeci91 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:27 pm

we only seem to have the Amplify Shader Editor, and do not own Amplify Texture so I guess was more so wondering if I am capable of channel packing textures within the Amplify Shader Editor.
billeci91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Channel Packing Textures with Amplify

Postby Ricardo Teixeira » Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:05 am

billeci91 wrote:we only seem to have the Amplify Shader Editor, and do not own Amplify Texture so I guess was more so wondering if I am capable of channel packing textures within the Amplify Shader Editor.


Thank you for elaborating, ignore my previous reply in that case. You can use Packed Textures with the Amplify Shader Editor but, unfortunately, ASE does not pack textures. We might have a solution for that in the future, be sure to stay tuned for upcoming updates.

Thanks!
Sales & Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
User avatar
Ricardo Teixeira
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Channel Packing Textures with Amplify Shader Editor

Postby billeci91 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 12:21 am

Thats great news that the Amplify Shader Editor supports it! The issue I am having is that when I import my packed texture that I created in Photoshop into the Amplify Shader Editor, it does not seem to be displaying the metallic, smoothness or normal map correctly. As I stated above, I've tried packing my Albedo into the RGB channel, the Metallic into the Red Channel, Smoothness into the Green Channel and Normal into the Blue Channel.

Have you encountered a similar issue when using this method of packing textures, and if so, how have you fixed the issue?
billeci91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Channel Packing Textures with Amplify Shader Editor

Postby Ricardo Teixeira » Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:03 am

billeci91 wrote:Thats great news that the Amplify Shader Editor supports it! The issue I am having is that when I import my packed texture that I created in Photoshop into the Amplify Shader Editor, it does not seem to be displaying the metallic, smoothness or normal map correctly. As I stated above, I've tried packing my Albedo into the RGB channel, the Metallic into the Red Channel, Smoothness into the Green Channel and Normal into the Blue Channel.
Have you encountered a similar issue when using this method of packing textures, and if so, how have you fixed the issue?


Thank you for elaborating. Unfortunately, we have not come across similar problems. I'm curious to know how you are handling the normal, that could be the cause of problem.

Can you share a sample via WeTransfer directly to support@amplify.pt? We would be happy to examine it and, if possible, fix it on our side.

Thanks!
Sales & Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
User avatar
Ricardo Teixeira
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:26 pm


6 posts • Page 1 of 1

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron