Amplifying your potential.

FlowMaps

Your feedback is very important to us. We are listening.
5 posts • Page 1 of 1

FlowMaps

Postby CGDaVnci » Tue May 15, 2018 9:24 am

Hi, I'm trying to compile the function FlowMap, as it is realized in UnrealEngine4. I almost collected it, but I ran into two problems.
1- this I can not find a node Switch(It is necessary with three parameters : True , False , Value)
2-in the output parameter of the function there is no type StaticBool which is available in UnrealEngine4.
Attachments
2018-05-15_12-26-10.png
2018-05-15_12-26-10.png (27 KiB) Viewed 226 times
2018-05-15_12-30-52.png
2018-05-15_12-30-52.png (23.75 KiB) Viewed 228 times
2018-05-15_12-15-02.png
2018-05-15_12-15-02.png (41.61 KiB) Viewed 231 times
CGDaVnci
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 8:57 am

Re: FlowMaps

Postby Ricardo Teixeira » Tue May 15, 2018 10:47 am

Hello,

Thank you for getting in touch, we would be happy to help.

Technically, there are no bool types available in shader development, you will have to circumvent this limitation using Switches, Toggles, or IF nodes.

1. The solutions provided in the UE4 editor are specific to their engine, please use the available alternatives under Logical Operators.

2. I'm not familiar with that Custom Expression but you'll definitely have to rework the way the "bool" is setup in our own Custom Expression node.

For your convenience, be sure to check the upcoming flowmap community sample attached; Shader Function included.

Thanks!
Attachments
FlowSample.zip
(5.85 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Sales & Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
User avatar
Ricardo Teixeira
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: FlowMaps

Postby CGDaVnci » Tue May 15, 2018 5:43 pm

Thank you very much. Very quickly responded to my question .. I do not regret that I bought your wonderful product for a money. I will deal with the alternative method to realize the function, as in UnrealEngine4.
CGDaVnci
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 8:57 am

Re: FlowMaps

Postby CGDaVnci » Fri May 18, 2018 9:08 am

Hi, I was able to collect the function FlowMaps_Sample . And I'm picking up the material by this link https://www.sidefx.com/tutorials/flowma ... for-games/ And I ran into a problem - if you rewind the timeline to an interval of 25:46, then the author of the video tutorial starts collecting nodes and then hooks the very first node (Multiply) to WORLD POSITION OFFSET. How I correctly understood that in my case it is LOCAL VERTEX OFFSET.But, when I did this, I had a Mesh Plane flew somewhere. I tried different options Vertex Output : Relative , Absolute.and could not achieve the result necessary to me((
Attachments
2018-05-18_12-12-55.jpg
2018-05-18_12-12-55.jpg (124.11 KiB) Viewed 182 times
2018-05-18_12-05-52.png
2018-05-18_12-05-52.png (59.91 KiB) Viewed 185 times
CGDaVnci
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 8:57 am

Re: FlowMaps

Postby Ricardo Teixeira » Fri May 18, 2018 10:32 am

CGDaVnci wrote:Hi, I was able to collect the function FlowMaps_Sample . And I'm picking up the material by this link https://www.sidefx.com/tutorials/flowma ... for-games/ And I ran into a problem - if you rewind the timeline to an interval of 25:46, then the author of the video tutorial starts collecting nodes and then hooks the very first node (Multiply) to WORLD POSITION OFFSET. How I correctly understood that in my case it is LOCAL VERTEX OFFSET.But, when I did this, I had a Mesh Plane flew somewhere. I tried different options Vertex Output : Relative , Absolute.and could not achieve the result necessary to me((


Hello,

Apologies for the inconvenience but there's no way we can know for sure what's causing the issue; the Local Vertex Offset is the right place to plug any node networks that would allow you to displace the geometry.

If I had to guess, I would say it's probably caused by the values used, Unreal to Unity conversion are almost never 1-1 (regardless of using ASE) - you will need to adapt it to your Unity project. Start by identifying what broke it and move from there.

I would be happy to examine a sample but I can't guarantee that it will work as you intend.

Have you had the chance to examine the sample I shared earlier? It's a functional flowmap shader.

Thanks!
Sales & Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
User avatar
Ricardo Teixeira
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:26 pm


5 posts • Page 1 of 1

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron