Per vertex deformation

Your feedback is very important to us. We are listening.

Per vertex deformation

Postby francois85 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 2:27 pm

Hello,

Im new to amplify shader and was wondering if someone could help me out. Basically I have a sphere with some vert randomly offset alone the normals, forming spikes like a mase ball. Now when i use tri planar projection I get really bad stretching on those faces, so I wont to deform my mesh back to a perfect sphere then do my tri planar and lastly add my spikes back. Is there a way to set per vertex position in the shader ?

Thanks so much
francois85

Re: Per vertex deformation

Postby Ricardo Teixeira » Thu Oct 04, 2018 2:33 pm

Hey there,

Can you give as an example or a sample?

Thanks!
Sales & Customer Relations at Amplify Creations
Learn more about our offering: Amplify Creations Products
Amplify Shader Editor won the Asset Store Best Tool Award - Thank you for your support!
Ricardo Teixeira

Postby francois85 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:21 pm

Hi Ricardo,

Thanks for your reply. Thinking about this problem again I seems like a hack for what I what to achieve. Maybe I can describe to you what Im trying to do and you can direct me down the correct path.

Basically I have a round little planet that I need to texture. The planet has several biodomes that need different textures blending together. Every vertex is the center of an area/tile I want to texture (see colorful hex image). The mesh is build on top of a structure/grid that is used for querying data eg I store what biodome each vertex is( see image with gl dots) although I have no idea how to provide the shader this information.

I was trying to make each biodome (20 max) a slightly different height and then blend/sample my texture based on distance from origin.

So with that explanation, Im trying to create a shader that can:
1) blend many many textures in a texture array using distance from origin or idealy looking up my data base.
2) triplanar projection